Indo Tribe – I’ve Become What You Were (Insider Mix)

Released on:
Pulse Two
The Pulse EPs

Runtime: 4:19

Rounding out the second Pulse EP is another returning artist name: Indo Tribe. Much like Mental Cube, there was never a key ‘sound’ for Indo Tribe, and with no standalone release to the name, there’s a sense of it existing largely to mop up various uncategorisable tracks. Certainly ‘I’ve Become What You Were’ is a long way away in sound from the earlier epic techno of ‘Bring in the Pulse‘ and ‘In the Mind of a Child‘. Instead, the track is led by a wonky, almost unmelodic synth line, which is met by numerous other oddly disjointed and unsettling synths, a lopsided rhythm track and occasional bursts into breakbeats.

I hated this track when I first heard it. Despite having a certain taste for odd sounds from a young age, I’ve always reverted to emotive melodies for some reason, and after three very evocative tracks, ‘I’ve Become What You Were’ leaps out as a generally unmelodic, experimental piece. It took some time, but over the years I grew to really appreciate how genuinely strange this track is. I’m still not sure quite how well all the aspects work together, but it’s totally unlike any other piece in the group’s canon, and is, by some margin, the weirdest track they had released by this point. Really worth tracking down if you’ve not heard it before.

Credits
Written by Brian Dougans and Garry Cockbain.
Produced and engineered by Mental Cube.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment