Bryan Ferry – I Put a Spell on You (Yage Mix)

Released on:
Bryan Ferry – I Put a Spell on You

Runtime: 5:20

The Bryan Ferry remixes feel very transitional. Stylistically, they match the stripped-back techno sound of much of Tales of Ephidrina, while being accredited to Yage, an alias more often used as an engineering credited than an actual artist. Both tracks are dark, brooding numbers that keep the chords of the original, and apply them to an ambient-techno format that feels a long way from Ferry’s modus operandi of 1993. Led by a squelchy 808 line and a straight forward four-to-the-floor beat, along with a conga loop, the track also features what could be considered ‘typically FSOL’ samples by this point, various squiggly noises and unidentifiable sprinkled over the track.

Garry’s description of the production process is unfavourable to the original: “With the Bryan Ferry track, all of the sounds were bad apart from some overspill which came from his headphones onto his vocal track. We started basically with that sound and built a track around it.”

This certainly isn’t entirely true of the five minute Yage Mix, as there’s a loop of wordless voice samples that plays throughout much of the track. That said, listening to the original – not something I’d recommend; Ferry was well past his prime at this point – it’s hard to hear much that made it through to the original track, although there’s a very quiet descending distorted melody – a synth or guitar – that might also have been used. The remix is a decent track, but the alternative longer version is far superior.

Tracklists
12″ (VST 1400 | 7243 8 95090 6 1 / VSTDJ 1400)
A1. I Put a Spell on You (Yage Mix)
A2. I Put a Spell on You (Yage Mix Long Version)
B1. I Put a Spell on You (Haunted House Mix)
B2. I Put a Spell on You (Council House Mix)

CD (VSCDG 1400 | 7243 8 91074 2 5 / VSCDT 1400 | 7243 8 91076 2 3)
1. I Put a Spell on You (Single Mix)
2. I Put a Spell on You (Yage Mix)
3. I Put a Spell on You (Haunted House Mix)
4. I Put a Spell on You (Yage Mix Long Version)
5. I Put a Spell on You (Council House Mix)

Credits
Written by Hawkings.
Produced by Bryan Ferry & Robin Trower.
Remix by The Future Sound of London.
Mastered by Ian Cooper at the Townhouse.

Leave a Comment